39 Dallas Cup Alumni on 2014 World Cup Rosters

2014 FIFA World Cup Rosters Included Notable Number of Dallas Cup Alumni


The Dr Pepper Dallas Cup, the most prestigious international youth soccer tournament in the United States, identified 39 Dallas Cup alumni that were named to the 23-man rosters of the 32 participating teams in the 2014 FIFA World Cup. The impressive number signifies that Dallas Cup alumni made up more than 5% of the total player pool of the 2014 World Cup.  These players represented 11 of the 32 countries that competed in the world’s most popular sporting event.

Numerous alumni in the Dallas Cup’s 35-year history have gone on to have successful soccer careers on the international stage, including legends David Beckham of England, Spain’s Raul, and Landon Donovan of the United States. In all, Dallas Cup alumni have played in over 430 FIFA World Cup matches, and have scored over 40 goals in the sport’s most important tournament.  In 2014, USA captain Clint Dempsey, Mexico’s Javier "Chicharito" Hernandez, England’s Wayne Rooney, and Costa Rica's Joel Campbell were just a few of the Dallas Cup alumni that scored goals in this year's World Cup.

Here is the complete list of Dallas Cup alumni players that were called upon to represent their countries in Brazil for the 2014 FIFA World Cup.

Argentina        Agustin Orion

Australia         Massimo Luongo

Belgium           Adnan Januzaj

Brazil               Maicon

Costa Rica       Joel Campbell

Costa Rica       Diego Calvo

Costa Rica       Waylon Francis

Costa Rica       Keylor Navas

Costa Rica       Celso Borges

Costa Rica       Daniel Cambronero

Croatia             Sammir

England            Ross Barkley

England            Glen Johnson

England            Wayne Rooney

England            Luke Shaw

England            Adam Lallana

Germany          Ron-Robert Zieler

Mexico             Javier Hernandez

Mexico             Rafael  Marquez

Mexico             Jose Corona

Mexico             Andres Guardado

Mexico             Giovani Dos Santos

Mexico             Alfredo Talavera

Mexico             Francisco Rodriguez

Mexico             Marco Fabian

Mexico             Miguel Ponce

Mexico             Alan Pulido

Netherlands     Jonathan de Guzman

USA                  Jozy Altidore

USA                  Damarcus Beasley

USA                  Kyle Beckerman

USA                  Alejandro Bedoya

USA                  Michael Bradley

USA                  Timmy Chandler

USA                  Brad Davis

USA                  Clint Dempsey

USA                  Omar Gonzalez

USA                  Brad Guzan

USA                  Nick Rimando